Monthly Favourites

It’s that time again, and this time I am very, very late. My sincere apologies. A new month, a new beauty favourites blog post.

Without any further delay, here are my four beauty favourites from the month of November:

image

1. Cover Girl Clump Crusher Lash Blast Mascara in ‘Black’

image

Yes, this mascara is still going strong though I bought it way back in May! I just adore it. It gives my lashes a lovely false lash effect and holds a curl well. I don’t find my lashes droop throughout the days wear, nor do I find it smudges or flakes on me (and no, I don’t mean that it cancels plans on me at the last minute). I do realise that I have continued to use it beyond the expiration date (three months) of the generic mascara, but in life I’m a risk taker, what cha’ gonna do? No, in all seriousness I cannot recommend you do this. I don’t want to say this because it’s fairly cringey of me, but it’s necessary that I tell you “do not try this at home”. The health of our eyes is paramount. Our eyes are incredibly sensitive and it wouldn’t take much to damage our vision permanently. This is why it’s especially important that we are careful when using makeup on our eyes. I’m sure everyone reading this knows that you shouldn’t share mascara or eyeliner with another person unless it is properly sanitised, but for those who didn’t know, you do now. In fact, having wrote this, I realise I better dispose of this mascara sooner rather than later. I’m going to throw it away today. Sob.

2. Rimmel Scandaleyes Waterproof Kohl Kajal in ‘Black’

image

I know it looks pitiful and rather unappealing in the photo, but that’s only because I use it every single day so please do ignore the state that its in. Yours will look shiny and new, well, that is until you fall head over heels in love with it too and use it as often as me, then yours will look just as grubby. Welcome to the club 😉 I’m honestly shocked I’ve never written about this eyeliner on Makeup Muzings until today. This is the only kohl liner I will use. I have yet to find anything that can top it for me – though, feel free to tell me in the comments section below if you think there is an eyeliner you’ve tried that could knock this off the top spot. It’s the blackest, black eyeliner I’ve found, which naturally makes it also delightfully pigmented. I hate when black eyeliners swatched look grey more than anything else. No bueno. This is an onyx black. It is also the creamiest liner I’ve used on my waterline. It doesn’t drag or pull and with little to no pressure, I get full impact. However, I’m not sure I believe the waterproof claim. It does stay on all day for me, but I’m fairly certain I’d have panda eyes if I went swimming with this on. But then, who goes swimming with makeup on? I don’t! My only gripe, if you can consider it one, is that it’s a pencil liner which requires regular sharpening and because the texture of it is so soft, it tends to break off which means wasted product, something I’d prefer to avoid. If Rimmel were to repackage this and make it a twist-up liner, I would be forever indebted to them.

 3. NYC City Proof Twistable Intense Lip Colour in ‘Gramercy Park Plum 031’

image

I called it. I knew this would make it into my monthly favourites. This is all I’ve been wearing on my lips throughout November. I’m so glad I bought this. It was such a complete spur of the moment purchase and its quickly become one of my staple lip products to wear. It’s a beautiful dark raspberry shade, though it is described as plum.

image

The lip product itself is a step up from your traditional lip balm. It gives an evident shine to the lips so if you prefer a more matte like finish, this might not be for you. I, for one, love wearing both but of late, I’ve favoured wearing nourishing lipsticks like this one because its been bitterly cold in the UK lately and my lips have suffered. Chapped beyond belief. It’s quick and easy to apply, glides on and with a few swipes of it over the lips, you have a lovely just bitten look to your lips. It’s a buildable colour and comfortable on the lips. You can wear it quite sheer, but with additional applications you can achieve the colour seen in the photo above, which is how I have been wearing it most days. It makes my lips look juicy and kissable, if I even say so myself. Emily approved!

5. LORAC PRO to Go Eye/Cheek Palette

image

I’m not one for wearing bronzer much, I have fairly pale skin and most bronzers are too orangey for me and I refuse to look like I’ve been tangoed. For a long time I even avoided using the bronzer in this palette because in the pan it looked just as scary and dark to me as all other bronzers. But I decided I needed to put my big girl pants on and it try it last month, and I was pleased to learn once on, it doesn’t look nearly as brown or as orange as when I have swatched it in the past.

image

Once blended in it gives just enough definition to really accentuate my cheekbones. Admittedly, I don’t go to town with this bronzer. I don’t apply it everywhere, nor do I use it to heavily contour other features on my face. It’s strictly for the hollow of my cheeks but I’ve really been liking the effect it gives and I’ll continue to use it in the coming months. Side note: this bronzer also works great as an eyeshadow, too!

Let me know what your beauty favourites are, I’d love to know.

Emily x

Leave a Reply

