Monthly Favourites

Another month over with, another monthly favourites!

1. Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge

image

I have fallen in love with this makeup sponge. I never thought I’d see the day. I always thought I would be a makeup brush kind of girl where foundation was concerned, but alas, I am no longer. All of my makeup brushes were dirty one morning when I had wanted to do my makeup, so as a last resort I plunged my hand into my bedside drawer to retrieve this sponge because I knew it was clean as I hadn’t used it since I’d made this blog post. Being lazy, I didn’t bother dampening it first. This is where I have been going wrong all this time. The results of this sponge when dry are just incredible. I was a convert after the first application. It blends my foundation in wonderfully, and gives my skin a very natural finish. No cake issues at all. It’s quick and easy to use and aside from the fact that it stains after a couple of uses and no amount of cleaning can eradicate that, I have no complaints.

2. L’Oréal Paris Lumi Magique and NARS Sheer Glow Foundation

image

These are the two foundations I have been wearing in conjunction with each other for the past month, probably even longer now. I mix one pump of the NARS and one pump of the L’Oréal foundation, and together they match my skin tone perfectly and provide a medium coverage. The NARS on its own, is as described, sheer, and occasionally I do wear it alone but I love the finish I get when I combine the two foundations. My skin looks dewy and like I’ve slept a full eight hours, which is generally never the case.

3. Garnier Moisture Match Moisturiser (Dry to Very Dry)

image

For a while I was worried this face cream would break me out because its quite heavily fragranced and my skin is extremely sensitive. But it never did. What it did do, was make my skin incredibly soft and supple. My skin type is usually combination but now that we’re into the colder months, my skin has become very dry which is usual for me during the Winter. This moisturiser has been my saviour. It’s a very thick consistency and sinks into my skin fast, leaving it feeling hydrated and not at all dry. I will definitely be repurchasing this moisturiser.

4. MAC 217 Blending Brush

image

I bought this back in May and it took me until October to actually use it. It was just too pristine, too pretty, too new. I didn’t want to spoil it. Please tell me it isn’t just me who has done this before? What am I talking about? Of course it is, I’m a crazy makeup (and cat!) lady. Needless to say, judging by the fact that it is being included in my monthly favourites, that I loved it … When I did finally get around to using it.

5. MAC Amber Lights eyeshadow

image

This eyeshadow has clearly seen better days and though I alternate which shadows I wear regularly, I always find myself returning to MAC’s Amber Lights. It’s the perfect burnt orange/copper shadow and really highlights the blue in my eyes which I think creates a very pretty effect. MAC shadows are generally very pigmented and Amber Lights is most definitely pigmented. I think this is a universal colour that would compliment anyone and everyone. When you’re next at a MAC counter swatch this shadow!

6. The Body Shop Orange Body Butter

image

This stuff smells delicious and feels divine. It’s nourishing, sinks into the skin fairly quickly and the scent has decent longevity. Enough said.

What are your monthly favourites? Comment below and tell me! I’ve also been toying with the idea of doing a non-beauty monthly favourites each month too. So please do let me know whether this is something you think you would be interested in seeing here on Makeup Muzings.

Emily x

2 thoughts on “Monthly Favourites

  1. Ah I don’t think I have a beauty monthly favorite but if I were to pick something it would be the better than sex mascara by too faced. I hate the name haha but it’s the only mascara I own at the moment so it gets a lot of use!

    Like

Leave a Reply

