Hallowe’en

Happy Halloween to you all!

I absolutely adore Halloween and despite having no plans this year, I still like to indulge myself in imagining what my costume might have been if I were attending a Halloween party, or a themed event of some sort tonight. I thoroughly enjoy all aspects of fancy dress, I take it very seriously, and any excuse to dress up is fine by me.

This year I would have chosen to dress up as Dr Frank-N-Furter from The Rocky Horror Picture Show.

image

Yesterday I was bored, and at a loose end so I decided to see if I could master his makeup look. Why shouldn’t I still get to have my fun, even if I’m not actually doing anything for Halloween?

This isn’t going to be a tutorial or a how-to blog post and I’m sorry to disappoint anyone who had hoped it might be. At the time I had intended on taking photos of each step of the makeup application but I got a little carried away and completely forgot. Before I knew it I was half way through the look before I remembered I had planned to take photos!

The two photos I do have that aren’t of the finished result:

imageimage

(Apologies about the change in lighting with these two photos. I was doing this in the late afternoon when the sun was starting to set. Also, yes, its true, I cannot do any makeup look without rocking out to my music).

I Googled a handful of images of Tim Curry as Frank and used these to refer to. I mostly remained true to his look, with a couple of minor differences. As you can tell I didn’t take the shadow all the way to my eyebrows, unlike Frank’s. Nor did I use any kind of contouring/cheek product, simply because I didn’t want to and I was concerned it might disrupt my white cream makeup. The eyebrows were definitely the most challenging element to the look and it takes a very steady hand. Tip: make sure your kohl liner is sharpened to within an inch of its life before drawing the eyebrows on to get the sharpest, crispest line you can. I purposely didn’t make the look perfect, because Frank’s isn’t. His makeup is meant to look messy and unprofessional, as if he has applied it rather than the film’s makeup artist who will have actually done it.

I won’t bother to list the makeup items I used because I don’t believe it’s important you use the exact ones I did to recreate this yourself. All you need is white face makeup, a basic black liner (liquid or kohl, your choice), a jet black eyeshadow, a dark grey eyeshadow (both matte preferably), a deep burgundy red lipstick, a clear lipgloss to add a subtle shine to the lips and (optional) mascara or lashes which I chose not to use because I thought it would make the look too pretty which wasn’t my goal.

Here are two more photos of my finished look. I was pleasantly surprised with the outcome and I think I did Frank justice. What do you think?

imageimage

I hope you all have a spooktacular and safe Halloween! Don’t forget to comment and tell me if you’re getting dressed up for Halloween, or if you liked this blog post.

Emily x

Leave a Reply

