Look Of The Day

For today’s makeup look I was inspired by the classic pin-up. I wanted the statement rouge lips and black winged liner. Generally I don’t wear makeup during the week, preferring to let my skin breathe, but for some reason this morning I woke up and I felt like making a real effort and putting on a full face of makeup. Does anyone else do this?

To begin with I prepped my skin with the Garnier Moisture Match face moisturiser:

image

I only got this a few days ago so I can’t say what I make of it yet. It’s catered to those with dry to very dry skin, which I have, especially now that we’re in the colder months. It’s very thick so I had to give the cream around five minutes to fully sink in before moving onto my base. 

For face products I used the L’Oréal Lumi Magique foundation, Maybelline New York Age Rewind concealer and the Milani Baked blush in “berry amore”.

image

I applied my base with a buffing brush. I squeezed about two pumps of the foundation onto the back of my hand and that was more than plenty to cover my entire face and neck. After allowing the makeup to set I then used the concealer under my eyes and blended the product in with my fingers, relying on the warmth of my fingers to help melt the concealer into my skin. I didn’t use the concealer elsewhere on my face as I find my foundation evens my skin tone out more than enough so I never require additional coverage. After concealer I moved onto blusher. With this Milani blusher a little goes a very long way, and it is incredibly pigmented so I always make sure to tap off the excess powder from my Real Techniques blusher brush. I applied it directly to the apple of my cheeks before sweeping the brush over my cheekbones to add a little colour there too. I didn’t set my base with anything because as mentioned previously I have a dry skin type so I rarely need to worry about my makeup moving or sweating off throughout the day.

To recreate the signature pin-up eye look I used the Lorac Pro to Go palette, along with Cover Girl’s Clump Crusher mascara and Collection’s Extreme black felt tip liner.

image

I first used the cream shade “shell” from the palette and applied a thin layer all over my lid and up to my brow bone using a flat top shadow brush before adding more of the same shade more heavily to just my eyelid. I then used the medium brown shade “café” with a blending brush in my crease for definition, making sure to really carve out the socket of my eyes, almost giving myself a cut crease. I used a second blending brush with zero product on it to make sure there were no harsh edges and that both shadows were blended thoroughly for the final step to my eyeshadow. After which I used the felt tip liner and created a fairly thick winged line and then added mascara to both top and bottom lashes. I left my waterline void of any product so that my eyes would appear big, open and very doll like, in keeping with the traditional pin-up eye look.

imageimage

I filled my eyebrows in as I would normally, following the natural shape that they grow in. To do this I used my MAC 263 angled brush and a dark brown eyeshadow from the Stila Written In The Stars eye palette.

image

And now for the most important (and fun!) step in achieving a pin-ups trademark look. The iconic red lip. I opted for one of my favourite red lipsticks by Rimmel from the Kate Moss range, a matte deep red in “07”.

image

I applied the lipstick directly from the bullet onto my lips, choosing not to use a lip brush, nor a lip liner. Despite this lipstick being matte, it doesn’t tug on your lips during application nor is it drying, making it very comfortable to wear. I made sure my lips weren’t chapped beforehand though because, like with any matte lip product, they do have a tendency to emphasise even the slightest crack or flake.

And voila! You’re done. This was my finished look and I was very happy with the outcome. I felt so glamorous. Shame I had no where to go to show it off. If you want to really do it up right, and get the full pin-up girl effect, curl your hair and don your stockings and heels. Boop-oop-a-doop.

image

Emily x

2 thoughts on “Look Of The Day

Leave a Reply

